TJ’s Talk

Chat about teaching, teacher education, business education and lots of other stuff.

Lest We Forget November 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — tjordan @ 11:20 pm

Today is Remembrance Day…today I am thinking about how thankful I am for the people that protect this country. Thankful for the men and women that choose to enter the military, protect and fight for the rights of people around the world, and defend what it means to be Canadian. I appreciate the sacrifice that these people make so that Canadians, and others around the world, can live safer. I am thankful that there are people that are willing to choose this way of life so that others are not forced to. I am safe, free and have the ability to make choices on what I want my life to be…and for that I thank all Veterans, Canadian Forces, RCMP alive and perished that have made this possible.

Remembrance DayTo Remember
Remember Remember the 11th of November. The days the guns were silent. When the trenches were quiet. When the field was calm and quiet. When the tanks stop dead in their tracks. When the skies of Europe were calm and fly-less. As the poppies grow we shall never forget the fallen. Remember Remember the 11th of November.

By: Waynell

One of my grade 8 students wrote this on his own at home and brought it to class yesterday. It is absolutely fantastic and I am so proud of him. He was extremely proud of himself, as he should have been, and he was courageous enough to read his poem in front of the entire school at our Rememberance Day assembly.

When people talk about celebrating the small successes that teachers see every day, this is what they were talking about…instead of being a small success however, this is a pretty big one. Thank you Waynell for being a fantastic person…as well as a fantastic student!

Photo attribute Jason Neumann from Flickr Creative Commons